JAPANESE FOREST XYLOPHONE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c84C6YZirzE&app=desktop

This serene advert is for a Japanese brand of mobile phone, ‘Touch Wood’. Although the design for the phone is a bit silly, the advert surpasses all I have seen so far. Different lengths of wood are placed in rhythmic order down a ‘marble run’ which runs through a very beautiful forest. As the balls runs its course, it plays a very familiar tune – Bach’s ‘Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring’ – perhaps a bit questionable. It does work very well though, and at a few notes, the ball falls down an added pinball type contraption which generates a simple trilling noise. This is something I might consider using for my marble run.

I am now also beginning to think about the sounds my run might create, and I feel like the ordering of my pieces might create something interesting (and minimal?) to listen to as well as experience.

One thought on “JAPANESE FOREST XYLOPHONE

Leave a Reply

